Apple Butter

So my husband and I were feeling very fall-festive today since the weather finally dipped below 70 degrees!  We were so excited to welcome fall, we thought what better a place to do so than the Mercier Apple Orchard in the Blue Ridge Mountains?  That’s right, we packed a cooler with cold homemade pizza, grabbed my camera and headed up north (although I wish we had packed warmer clothes, because my cute apple picking outfit was quickly transformed by the goodwill bag I had in the trunk…thankful for the extra layers but bye-bye white cowl neck sweater hello blue hoody circa 1996).

Say bye bye to this Rome Beauty…tomorrow she has a one way ticket to Apple Butter Town!

We took a few back roads on the drive up to the mountains, which turned into an adventure in and of itself!  You know when you take those long country drives and oooh and ahhhh over the eclectic hodge podge people choose to display in no other location but their very own front yards?  Yep, nothing like a Sunday drive full of crazy to make you appreciate your own abode.  My eyes were glued to the window the whole way, and I gave my husband the play-by-play window commentary since he was responsible for arriving safely to our destination.  What can I say, I’m a cheap date?

Anybody recognize this type of flower? They thrived beneath the apple trees, but I don’t know their name.

I wished we had checked out one or two more Yelp reviews after pulling into the orchard’s parking lot.  This place was a total zoo!  Little did we know, we had stumbled on the Largest Apple Orchard in the state of Georgia!…on a crisp cool fall day!….the first weekend of October!….did I mention this place was a zoo?

The orchard employees said they donated the fallen apples, but I’m not sure who would want to be on the receiving end of that donation…unless you had four legs

Out in the orchard we asked the employees where we could find the best apples for apple butter, they actually walked us away from the crowd, about 10 minutes down a path to our own private apple picking haven!  We somehow managed to pick our Rome Beauties in complete isolation from the hundreds of other apple seeking fall lovers.

This is one of my favorite shots from the day. The house pictured was built in 1925 and was used to preserve to the apples during the winter. Loved capturing the rolling hills, mountains and low hanging clouds on this chilly fall day!

After our pickin’s were picked, we decided the fastest way to warm up was with a quick hard cider tasting.  Delicious!  We bought one of each of three cider varieties so we could conduct our own apple cider tasting party at Thanksgiving.  Always thinking ahead!  We were very satisfied with our little adventure and we cannot wait to start making our apple butter!  I have never made apple butter, so I suppose our little apple adventure will continue tomorrow!  For now though, its time to light up a fall candle and watch some feisty football and enjoy the evening with my hubby.

